Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

As an Interaction Studio administrator, you can create custom roles to grant granular, task-specific permissions to different aspects of Interaction Studio. You can also add new usersupdate existing users including assigning new passwords, or delete users using the Manage Users utility in Interaction Studio. 

If your company uses single sign-on or accesses Interaction Studio through Marketing Cloud, you will still need to add and assign roles, and edit or delete users through Manage Users.

This Article Explains

This section details how to add user roles and how to add, edit and delete users in Interaction Studio.

Sections in this Article

Add Roles

Roles are custom and granular in Interaction Studio. You can create roles with the combination of permissions, granted by dataset, that meet the needs of your company and security team. The following roles are included by default in your account:

  • Viewer–can view everything but not make any updates. In the Visual Editor, a user with Viewer permissions can follow the process to create and edit campaigns and templates but not save changes, view the sitemap but not save changes, and view mapped content zones on a page.
  • Campaign Author–can view everything and create, update, and delete campaigns, but cannot publish campaigns or edit or delete published campaigns within Interaction Studio or the Visual Editor. Can create, update, and delete segments that are not included in campaigns. Can add and edit recipes, but not publish new recipes. Can delete recipes not used in any campaigns.
  • Campaign Editor–can view everything and create, update, publish, and delete recipes and campaigns within Interaction Studio or the Visual Editor.
  • Editor–can view everything, create, update, publish, and delete campaigns within Interaction Studio or the Visual Editor, and create, update, and delete segments, user attributes, and items.
  • Editor with Export–has all of the rights of an Editor, and can export segments and datasets.
  • Administrator–has all the rights of an Editor with Export and can configure the system, create and update datasets, manage users, and add, edit, or delete API tokens.

You can modify or delete these existing roles or add new custom roles to meet the needs of your company and your Interaction Studio users.

Add a New Role

  1. Log into Interaction Studio as an administrator
  2. At the left, select Security > Manage Role Definitions
  3. Click Add Role 
  4. Enter the Role Name
  5. Add Dataset Permissions by selecting the checkbox next to the permission you want to add to the role
  6. Click Save to save the role

Dataset Permissions Defined

The following permissions are available to grant to a role as described in Add a New Role above:

  1. Channels
    1. Campaigns
      1. View - view but not create, edit, publish or delete campaigns
      2. Create/Edit - view, create, and edit, but not publish or delete campaigns
      3. Publish/Delete - view, publish, or delete, but not create or edit campaigns
      4. Administer Channel - permission to setup action mapping, site-wide javascript, site-wide CSS, configure mobile app and email domain setup
    2. Templates
      1. View - view but not create, edit, publish or delete campaign templates
      2. Create/Edit - view, create, and edit, but not publish or delete campaign templates
      3. Publish/Delete - view, publish, or delete, but not create or edit campaign templates
    3. Item Templates
      1. View - view but not create, edit, publish or delete item templates
      2. Create/Edit - view, create, and edit, but not publish or delete item templates
      3. Publish/Delete - view, publish, or delete, but not create or edit item templates
  2. Audiences
    1. Segments
      1. View - view but not create, edit, publish or delete segments
      2. Create/Edit - view, create, and edit, but not publish or delete segments
      3. Publish/Delete - view, publish, or delete, but not create or edit segments
    2. User/Account Profile
      1. View - view all attributes and profile details except for sensitive information but not create, edit, or delete user/account profiles and attributes
      2. View Sensitive - view all attributes and profile details including sensitive information but not create, edit, or delete user/account profiles and attributes. For information about how to Manage Sensitive Information in Interaction Studio, please see the article in this knowledge base
      3. Create/Edit - view all attributes and profile details except for sensitive information, create and edit, but not delete user/account profiles and attributes
      4. Delete - view all attributes and profile details except for sensitive information and delete, but not create or edit user/account profiles and attributes
    3. Bulk Event Data
      1. Export - export data from segments, all users, and catalog items
    4. Raw Event Data
      1. Export - export event data displayed in the Event Stream
  3. Machine Learning
    1. Recipes
      1. View - view but not create, edit, publish or delete recipes
      2. Create/Edit - view, create, and edit, but not publish or delete recipes
      3. Publish/Delete - view, publish, or delete, but not create or edit recipes
    2. Contextual Bandit
      1. View - view but not create or edit Feature Subsets or edit Feature Engineering
      2. Create/Edit - view, create, and edit Feature Subsets and edit Feature Engineering
    3. Catalog
      1. View - view but not create, edit, publish or delete catalog items
      2. Create/Edit - view, create, and edit, but not publish or delete catalog items
      3. Delete - view, publish, or delete, but not create or edit catalog items
  4. Settings
    1. Dataset
      1. Configure Dataset - configure dataset options in Settings
    2. Catalog and Profile Objects
      1. Configure - configure catalog and profile object definitions but not view, create, edit, publish, or delete individual catalog and/or profile objects

Edit a Role

  1. Log into the Interaction Studio Platform as an administrator
  2. At the left, select Security > Manage Role Definitions
  3. Click ...
  4. Save the role to immediate change permissions for all user accounts assigned that role 

Delete a Role

  1. Log into the Interaction Studio Platform as an administrator
  2. At the left, select Security > Manage Role Definitions
  3. Click the trash can icon next to the role you want to delete
  4. Users assigned that role will have their permissions immediately default to any other roles they have, or will have all access to Interaction Studio removed until you assign another role

Access Manage Users

  1. Log into the Interaction Studio Platform as an administrator
  2. At the left, select Security > Manage Users 

Add New Users

If your team accesses Interaction Studio from within Marketing Cloud, you will need to manage user accounts there then assign Interaction Studio roles.

  1. Access Manage Users
  2. Click ADD USER
  3. Enter the User Name, Email Address, First Name, and Last Name

  4. Send Activation Email is selected by default, which emails the user with instructions for logging in the first time

  5. Select Dataset Permissions by adding Roles to each dataset role field. Role name are auto-suggested as you type
  6. Add Notes about the user, as needed
  7. Click Select Files to upload an Avatar Image, if desired
  8. Click OK to add the user, CLEAR to clear all fields but remain in Create User, or CANCEL to return to Manage Users without adding the user


Edit a User

  1. Access Manage Users

  2. Select the user from the list or enter partial ID, name, or email address in Filter by User to search for a user

  3. Click EDIT USER
  4. You can update the Email Address, First NameLast Name, or Role, but not User Name
  5. To update the password, enter the new password in Password and Confirm Password

    NOTE

    Alternatively, if a user has forgotten his or her password, s/he can click Forgot your password? on the login screen to reset the password
  6. Select a new Role as needed
  7. Click OK to update the record, CLEAR to clear all changes but remain in Create User, or CANCEL to return to Manage Users without making changes

Delete a User

When you delete a user, it disables the account so the user cannot log in, but preserves any audit logs related to that user account. If you delete a user, you will not be able to create a new user with the same email address. Please contact Support for assistance. 

  1. Access Manage Users

  2. Select the user from the list or enter partial ID, name, or email address to search for a user

  3. Click DELETE USER
  4. Click DELETE to delete the user or CANCEL to return to Manage Users