|Category||Reduce Churn, Increase Engagement||Vertical||Technology, SaaS|
|Topic||Remove access to features to encourage users who cancel to reconsider||ID #||227|
In an ideal world, your application would satisfy the needs of your customers to the point where they’d never stop using your solution. As anyone in the SaaS business can attest, churn is an unfortunate reality. The good news is that when a customer does express interest in leaving, there may be opportunity to save the relationship, but you need act quickly. With Evergage you can monitor a customer’s activities – including if someone clicks “cancel” – and respond instantaneously (within your application).
Create a segment of users who have clicked Cancel My Contract but are still customers.
The main goal with the messages is to have someone be in the segment of “people who have clicked cancel but are customers.” This segment will be relevant for either the group who see the first campaign or the second campaign. You would have a control group on the campaign so you would able to see the lift over control of people who see the message and stay / return as a customer versus those who do not see the message.
There are a number of steps to create this beginner-level campaign.
- First, you need to track the “Cancel My Contract” button within your application. By assigning an action to the button, as soon as someone clicks it, a message can be represented.
- Next, you would create a campaign with multiple experiences (for steps throughout the cancellation/reactivation journey). They would be “rules-based” campaigns.
- The first experience would be shown when someone clicks “Cancel My Contract” button. It would contain a message that would be shown to people who have clicked this button and be configured to only appear on the account page (as noted above). We would only show this message once so it would not be presented if the customer comes back to the site with the intention of renewing. This prevents the message from appearing if the customer happens to come back to your application and decides to renew.
- For the second experience, the customer’s state would change to “canceled” based either on a variable that you are sending to Evergage, or by Evergage creating a segment of people who have clicked the “Cancel My Contract” button. The experience would be shown to people who are in that segment and a message would cover the reports section of the site. It would be set to appear after someone has been on the page for two seconds and it would purposely not contain a “dismiss” button. The message would be set at a size to cover the whole reports section and stop any of the related buttons from being active.
This page has no comments.